Throwback: izmaylova dress

It has been a hectic February! I was out of town for work and it has been just an exhausting return. I am behind on posts for February and for January…

So I thought I’d do a quick throwback Thursday look at my Old Years Night dress of 2012 that I made inspired by an izmaylova dress worn by Vanessa Hudgens in glow magazine (the Dahlia dress). It has a great sheath dress style silhouette with side cut outs, and lace at the neckline for a sheer look.

The Dahlia dress by Izmaylova, via their style blog

I decided to construct my own version by combining an adjusting two patterns  I already had – one for a princess seam sheath (for the lace and main body), and a strapless bodice to guide the shape of the top under the lace bodice. Back then, I did not have this helpful image compilation so I kind of had to guess at parts of the construction.

wpid-20121202_180917.jpg

My version was made from lace, an off white knit and I used beads instead of feathers:

wpid-20121128_194046.jpg

Maybe not as glamorous as the real deal, but I was happy with how it turned out, especially being able to control the size of cut-outs and the length of the skirt. I also think the champagne and amber – toned browns looked nice with my skin.

izmaydress

I wore it to an Old Years Night event with friends where we danced our feet off 🙂

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

